A Step in the Right Direction


This is not a post about politics.

This is not a post about baseball.

This is a post about life, and love, and the RIGHT to do both.

I am a donating member of the Human Rights Campaign (HRC.org), I have Gay Pride stickers on my Man Wagon. My daughter wears gay pride clothing. I do not do these things lightly, or with any sense of it being a joke. I put my money where my mouth is and support the LGBT community.

I proudly support the rights of all people.

On Thursday, May 15th 2008 the California State Supreme Court ruled that the states ban on gay marriage was unconstitutional.

It was a ruling that Republican Governor, Arnold Schwarzenegger supported.

The ruling will not be challenged in the Federal Supreme Court.

I have been waiting to write about this until I had the time to think about what I really want to say.

I am not sure, at this moment that I really know, even still, what it is exactly I want to say.

I will be taking part in a wedding in June. A wedding that, according to the Law will not mean anything.

However, according to those who will take part, myself included, it will be counted among the most important days of our lives.

I have an overwhelming sense of pride when I think about that day. I am proud to stand with the people that I love, and watch to people who love each other as much as any two people are capable of enter their lives together.

It takes a long time for change to come. The mood of our country swings like a giant pendulum. The pendulum is swinging in the other direction.

The Tide is Turning.

It will be a long time before there is a Federal Law that ensures the Right of Gay people to marry.

New York State will be the next to pass a law on the State level guaranteeing the right to marry for all citizens. Rochester is on the forefront of this battle.

Civil Unions are not enough.

My daughter will grow up in a world that recognizes the rights of all people to marry.

That, is something to be proud of.

Leave a Reply

