Jon Lester

Last night Boston Redsox pitcher Jon Lester threw a no-hitter, which in and of itself is an awesome accomplishment. I can name the last five Major League no-hitters off of the top of my head (which either means it is a really cool thing to throw one, or I have way too much useless baseball knowlege on the top of my head).

What makes this story better is that two years ago, Jon was diagnosed with Lymphoma, a very serious form of cancer, which affects the lymphatic system. Jon basically had cancer in his entire body.

He returned to the Majors last season and helped the Sox win their second world series in three years (for those of you counting at home, that is two championships this century to zero for the Yankees).

Last night he was in control from start to finish. I could not help but feel incredibly happy for the man, he is about my age and has had to deal with something that I couldn’t dream of.

Leave a Reply

