Not In My House

I was told in my own home last night, in reference to Obama: “I can’t look at that man, he makes my blood boil”.

When I asked, how in the world that could be the case, how a 26-year old young woman could feel so strongly negative about the man that I feel so positive about, I was given some vague answer about an infant protection act.

What Terry did was do a little research on the topic. What I found was a list of Right-Wing wacko sites proclaiming that Obama is for Murding Children.

What the reality is, Obama did not support this legislation because it attempted to give equal protection under the constitution for Fetuses that were aborted late term because of the risk to the health of the mother.

Obama said:

… I just want to suggest… that this is probably not going to survive constitutional scrutiny.

Number one, whenever we define a previable fetus as a person that is protected by the equal protection clause or the other elements in the Constitution, what we’re really saying is, in fact, that they are persons that are entitled to the kinds of protections that would be provided to a – child, a nine-month-old – child that was delivered to term. That determination then, essentially, if it was accepted by a court, would forbid abortions to take place.

I mean, it – it would essentially bar abortions, because the equal protection clause does not allow somebody to kill a child, and if this is a child, then this would be an antiabortion statute. For that purpose, I think it would probably be found unconstitutional.

What Obama did was prevent the radical right wing from undermining Roe v. Wade on a state level by slapping the name “Infant Protection” on it.

Anti-Choice, right wingers use words like “Born Alive” and refer to fetuses as “Children” in an attempt to galvanize emotions.

I love my daughter in ways I didn’t know were possible. Having her, however was our choice. One that we, and Senator Obama take very seriously.

Don’t come into my house spouting this type of crap as the only reason you can muster for why you can’t even look at the man.

After eight years of George Bush, can’t we, as a nation get beyond this type of window dressing, emotional bull shit and focus on the issues, issues that Senator Obama has a clear advantage on.

When I have literally had to choose between gas in my car, and food in my fridge.

When we are in two wars, and facing two more, one with a nuclear Pakistan.

When the economy is crumbling because of the failed policies of George Bush and John “Keating Five” McCain.

When everything that we are proud of about this country is crashing down around our heads.

Can we not see past these types of issues.

Your lucky, Your lucky it was 11 pm. Your lucky Avi started crying. Your lucky I didn’t have time to organize my thoughts.

Because Not In My House.

FIRED UP READY TO GO!

Watch the Debate tonight.

or as I am calling it, the ImPALIN

Leave a Reply

