Watchmen, WBC and my Birthday


So I went to see “Watchmen” on Friday night. Aside from it being very long (which I am not complaining about, I think many movies are too short) I thought it was great. It stuck to the important parts of the book while hinting at some of the less important aspects without spending too much time on them. All in all I thought the film was great and did an excellent job of transposing words and images to film.

The best part of the movie may have been the trailers however. My summer movie lineup is extensive. Harry Potter, Wolverine, Terminator, 9, Star Trek, and now this one with Johnny Depp and Christian Bale. It is going to be an awesome summer at the movies.

Dad and I went to the WBC Saturday

Which was awesome and we had amazing seats.

I try to sit somewhere different at every game I go to. I think that it gives an awesome perspective on the game to see it from as many different angles as possible. The Rogers Centre is an awesome place to watch a game (although not Fenway) and we had a really good time.

I have stated before that I am a huge, huge fan of the WBC. I think that it is a great idea, and that this is the best time of year for it to be played. I have heard the arguments that it should be held in November and I disagree whole heartedly. I think that after the season would increase the possibility of fatigue induced injuries as well as more players bowing out.

Seeing the USA team bonding and high fiving each other after home runs or good plays, or Adam Dunn checking his pulse in the dugout in the 9th with the tying run on second, I can tell these guys care. It is really an awesome thing. Seeing David Wright and Jimmy Rollins hug after a win is a cool cool thing.

It was an awesome trip and an awesome game. I am an even bigger fan of the WBC now than I was on Friday. 42,000 fans on their feet cheering in the 9th inning of a game in March. Too cool.

and it’s my birthday today.

This entry was posted in Movies.

Leave a Reply

