The Draft Is Complete

Bear’s Brawlers
1. (1) David Wright
2. (24) Lance Berkman
3. (25) Matt Holliday
4. (48) Álex Ríos
5. (49) Dan Haren
6. (72) Ryan Doumit
7. (73) Joakim Soria
8. (96) Yovani Gallardo
9. (97) Mike Aviles
10. (120) Howie Kendrick
11. (121) Bobby Jenks
12. (144) Josh Johnson
13. (145) Yunel Escobar
14. (168) Alex Gordon
15. (169) Mike Pelfrey
16. (192) Ubaldo Jiménez
17. (193) Heath Bell
18. (216) Mark Reynolds
19. (217) Armando Galarraga
20. (240) John Smoltz
21. (241) Joey Devine
22. (264) Daniel Murphy

I had the first pick in the draft which means that I had the last pick in the second round and the first pick in the third, so on and so forth.

In general I am happy with this team. I try very hard to not rely on guys with a history of injuries. Which means banking on guys like Yovani Gallardo and Howie Kendrick, both of whom are tremendous when healthy, to stay that way is a gamble. Like I said yesterday, I don’t put a ton of stock into the draft, there are going to be any number of players availible who will perform at a talent level equal to or above many of the players who were taken in the middle rounds.

I am counting on Fat Elvis (Berkman)to stay healthy. Which could be a huge gamble for me.

I am trying not to freak out and drop half my team right now. We will see how things shake out.

Next draft, Saturday. I have the 8th pick.

Leave a Reply

