OTA


So, I am continuing to love my phone. I actually have found fewer and fewer reasons to use my computer. I bought a Netbook in the fall, and have since re gifted it to Danni as she is starting school in a few weeks and will get a lot more use out of it than I was.

The phone is basically everything I hoped it would be (I do wish the battery lasted a bit longer, but I don’t mind plugging it in on my way to and from work, I even got a dashboard thing for it, which is awesome when using it for turn by turn instructions or listening to music while driving)

The one downside to the phone is that it is running Android 1.5 and not 2.0 or 2.1 that the better known Motorola Droid is running.

I have been told by the numerous Android websites that I follow, that the Droid Eris, which I own, will be getting an update to 2.0 or 2.1 on or around January 22nd.

So, this morning I wake up an Over the Air (or OTA) update waiting for me on my phone. I knew ahead of time that it was not the much anticipated 2.0, but just a bug-fixing update.

Verizon and HTC are able to push these updates out over their networks, which leads my mind, which lives in a constant state of panic about the inevitable Robot Rebellion to ask, what is stopping them from sending out an OTA signal telling my phone to kill me? Maybe they can get Sarah Marshall to star in that film…

But seriously, don’t trust technology…

Leave a Reply

