Student Teaching-Day 1

First day of student teaching. All in all it went well. There are things I would do differently, things I wouldn’t do at all, and things I would do the same. It was not ground-breaking, Earth shattering teaching in anyway. But no one died, and I am heading back tomorrow, so I think those are all positives.

We did introductions and Geography basics. Not the most interesting topic, but I think the kids got something out of it. I am teaching two blocks, one with 10-12 10th graders who I know, and one with 30 9th graders where I know about half of them.

1st block is going to be nice in preperation for 2nd.

At the end of class I showed a quick clip from “Last of the Mohicans” because we are going to be starting pre-colonial American stuff later this week. This is one of my favorite scenes ever:

Which has to go down as one of the best Nike commercials of all time.

I love that they borrowed the music from this, the first time I saw this commercial I went nuts.

Leave a Reply

