The Health Care Debate

Visit msnbc.com for breaking news, world news, and news about the economy

Danielle worked at New York Presbyterian, on the floor where Mr. Olbermann’s father is receiving treatment. Living with a a health care professional, I know how hard the people with their boots on the ground in this fight are working.

My frustration with the politics of Changing this system has boiled over. I am guessing I feel a lot like this guy:

That is Congressmen Anthony Weiner of NY. And at 6:19 this morning I am at least reassured that someone out there is saying something that I agree with.

I think I may show this clip to my 11th grade U.S. History class this morning, we are starting to cover the Constitution today. How do I honestly teach about how our Government is supposed to work, when it has shown an utter inability to do anything for months.

We are no closer today to comprehensive healthcare reform than we were in the fall when I was frustrated. Mr. Obama, you are losing me. There are precious few issues that will get me angry enough to vote against you or not vote at all in 2012. Health Care, equal rights for all citizens regardless of sexual orientation, education, that’s pretty much it. In over a year, you and your administration have done shockingly little on each front.

6 comments on “The Health Care Debate

  1. Jeremy says:

    "How do I honestly teach about how our Government is supposed to work, when it has shown an utter inability to do anything for months."I agree with President Obama (as he said as a Senator): "You know, the Founders designed this system, as frustrating it is, to make sure that there’s a broad consensus before the country moves forward."And our current Secretary of State (then-Senator), Hillary Clinton: "It seems like it's a little less than efficient. Well that's right it is. And deliberately designed to be so."And our other Senator, Chuck Schumer: "The checks and balances which say if you get 51% of the vote, you don't get your way 100% of the time."And the current Majority Leader: "The right to extend a debate is never more important than when one party controls both Congress and the White House. The filibuster serves as a check, on power, preserve our limited government."

  2. yes, you are absolutely correct. Our government was not set up as "majority rules" it was set up to protect the views and rights of the minority. And as a liberal, I would have moved to Canada if there was no protection of my views under former President Bush.If those in congress had the best interests of their constituents in mind, I would be much more understanding. The problem for me is that support for some type of Public Option as a part of comprehensive healthcare reform is supported by somewhere near 70% of the population. And those how are obstructing ANYTHING from being passed do not have the best interests of anyone other than their corporate pimps in the insurance cartel in mind. The hypocrisy of the other side on this one is almost unbearable. Sarah Palin rants against "Death Panels" and the horrors of a government run health care option, while at the same time, her child with a disability is on state run insurance (which I have no issue with). And the same senators who fear monger on this topic are the beneficiaries of some of the best government run health care in the world. I really am good at seeing both sides of an argument, but that depends on the other side having at least one leg to stand on. I think my passion on this topic comes partly from Danielle working in the healthcare profession and me seeing how hard she works to deliver quality care. In my opinion (and yes, I do realize it is nothing more than that), Healthcare should not be a "for profit" industry. No one should benefit from people getting sick.

  3. Jeremy says:

    I'm curious where you get the 70% support for the public option. Today's CNN poll (an exceptionally large poll by their standards) put it at 51%.http://politicalticker.blogs.cnn.com/2010/02/24/cnn-poll-health-care-provisions-popular-but-overall-bills-unpopular/?fbid=PcrAj6YDXdnI don't claim they're right, but I like to see as much data as I can.

  4. I will look for it. The polls are tough to use because of how divisive this issue has become. When the particular aspects of the proposed bill are polled, they are far more popular. People like the individual parts, but when it is packaged as "big government healthcare" it becomes unpopular. But knowing your affinity for data, I will find it for you.

  5. Jeremy says:

    That link contains a lot of good information. It is very true that establishing opinions depends on how you phrase the question, which is why it's important to compare similar surveys. That article also reports many congruent findings with the CNN poll I linked, especially the overwhelming support for an employer mandate.But the CNN poll came to the opposite conclusions from the Washington Post/ABC regarding the individual mandate. Specifically, ABC found 56% support it (which I do not agree is a "substantial majority" in a poll), while CNN found 45% support it.I would seriously argue with theHill's premise that support for specific provisions trumps a lack of support for the entire bill. We don't know how important each provision is to the individual voter. (This is a problem for just about every poll.) For example, there seems to be no consensus on the support for the individual mandate, but if 70% of those who oppose it support the employer mandate and feel the employer mandate is *very* important, it could lead them to support the bill despite their rejection of one of its provisions. (And that door would swing the other way, making those who support some provisions not support the entire bill.)The importance of each provision could be established with an IRT analysis, but that's too much effort for newspeople. :)ps – This is why blogs are better than Facebook or Twitter.

Leave a Reply

