The Pantry


So, we are quickly approaching the three year anniversary of my purchase of the house. In that time I have made a few modest upgrades and gotten the place looking nice enough that I wasn’t completely embarrassed to have Danielle move in.

One of the nagging issues however has been the pantry. It is in the hallway that leads from the entry way of the house into the kitchen, so anyone who walks in, sees what’s there.

When I first bought the house, there was cheap folding doors there, which I hated and promptly removed. In the ensuing two years, the “pantry” has been little more than an open closet space with white metal wire shelves, which looked, frankly, terrible.

Danielle and I have been talking about upgrading the pantry for a while, and the time finally came this weekend.

With some borrowed antique doors from Jaquie, we got started.

In the above picture you can see what the space looked like without the wire shelves. This is me installing the door frame.

Because there were to studs in the wall here, we had to make good use of about three tubes of liquid nails.

We have to screw in the shelves, caulk and paint. Aside from that, we have a really nice looking pantry.

We have yet to decide what we want to do with the color on the doors. There is cracked and chipping white paint on them now, which as far as I am concerned looks great, the problem is, will the next buyers of the house think it looks so “rustic”.

The garbage can and recycling bin go under the newly built cabinet, and I am planning on building a roll-out drawer for them to fit into. This won’t be done this weekend however.

All in all, for less than $100, we ended up with a really nice upgrade and something the two of us are proud of.

2 comments on “The Pantry

  1. Jeremy says:

    Nice. Those little things make a big difference.(I'll be wiring lighting fixtures through my attic this spring break.)

  2. It actually came out looking just about what I had hoped. The big dilema now is paint color for the cabinet and the rest of the doors in the entry way, which this belongs to. The whole area needs a bit of a face lift. I am leaving the big projects (re-roofing the garage) for the summer, I figured the middle of my first student teaching placement wasn't the time to tackle anthing to massive. Any chance of you teaching EDI 600 in the fall again?

Leave a Reply

