Student Teaching

My Head…Your Wall

Well, the student teaching thing is winding down.

 
I am less than three weeks away from being done with little social experiment.
 
It has gone faster than I could have imagined. I have measured the time in Avi’s growth. The last 12 weeks have flown by, as I assume the next three will.
 
My advisor is coming out to see me “work my magic” (his words) this week, for the last time.
 
As this thing winds down, I have been thinking more and more about what comes next in my life.
 
I return to Hillside, I return to getting paid, and I start to figure out what I have to do in order to get hired to teach. It is a scary proposition.
 
I am unsure of my ability to do this, I really am.
 
I worry that I have lost so much time with Avi. I know she will never know the difference, that I am there and she sees me, but I know that I have missed time with her.
 
So as this thing comes to an end, and I begin the next phase in this process, I am excited and scared and unsure.
 
It’s a dangerous business, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there’s no telling where you might be swept off to
Leave a Reply

