I Don’t Understand

I don’t understand

I don’t understand a culture where hatred, mistrust and violence are worn like badges of honor.

I don’t understand a world where being successful in anything other than basketball, rap and drugs is somehow looked down upon.

I don’t understand how a child could talk to me like that, because of how I looked at him, when I only looked at him like that because of the words he was choosing to use.

I don’t understand what we choose to value.

I don’t understand how I teach about names and dates that are so far in the past that they almost don’t exist.

I don’t understand how I teach about yesterday, or tomorrow, to someone who can’t see beyond their block.

I don’t understand how I can make a difference in a life that has seemingly gone so wrong, so fast.

I don’t understand how I can get them to see, when all they see is me.

I don’t understand how to change a world that even I don’t understand.

I don’t understand how we have gotten to where we are.

I don’t understand how where we are is considered acceptable.

I don’t understand how I fit into all of this.

I don’t understand the world in which I have chosen to bring a child.

I don’t understand what to say to her when she says…Daddy…

I don’t understand.

Leave a Reply

