The Fish Tank Project

I have had aquariums up and running since I was in high school. In college I lived in a tiny room that used to be a porch, for some reason I decided it was a great place for a 65 gallon (that is 4 feet across) salt water tank.

I bought the tank from my old boss and stocked it with all the fish I always wanted. Then I killed them all because I didn’t know what I was doing.

So I bought more fish, and killed them, and on and on it has gone for close to 7 years.

I upgraded to a 75 gallon tank which is currently residing my our dining room (maybe not for long).

Currently in this tank is a mated pair of true clown fish, three pajama cardinal fish, a coral banded shrimp, assorted snails and hermit crabs, a yellow goby who never comes out, and various other critters.

There is about 1/3 of the live rock I will eventually have, a feather duster that came with some of the live rock as well as some small invertebrate that I have no idea what it is.

My plan is to take this setup, which I have had running with a fair amount of stability for 3 or 4 years, and get a little crazy with it.

I am going to add a ton more live rock, fish and eventually corals to this thing.

It is not going to be cheap, and it is going to take a lot of time, I will update with pictures and developments occur.

I have always been fascinated by what goes on in the ocean, and having a tiny piece of that in my home is something I love. I am going to try to be as responsible as possible throughout this process, in as far as tank raised specimens are available, I will look to purchase them, thus limiting my tank’s impact on an already stressed environment.

Leave a Reply

