Fish Tank Updates

The tank continues to undergo a major overhaul. I have had this tank up and running dating back to ’03. I had added fish here and there, but never really dedicated myself to it.

It is my habit, that when I undertake a hobby, I learn as much about it as possible. I never did that with the tank. I purchased my first (big) fish tank in college, it was 65 gallons, and took up about 2/3 of the room in my house.

Since upgrading to this one (75 Gal), I have never really done anything major with it. The tank basically ran itself for 2 or three years. I would occasionally change the water and feed the fish. Aside from that, I didn’t do much.

That all changed a few weeks ago, when I decided to really take an interest in the 4 foot thing dominating our dining room.

I have tried to do this right, adding the necessary pieces, prior to adding fish and eventually corals. I have only ever kept fish, so the step up to a full reef tank is a bit scary.

I added what is called a Sump under the tank. this is a reserve tank that acts as a filter for the system, while also increasing the overall volume (a problem with water quality is less of a problem spread across 100+ gallons than it is in 75).

I also added a Power Compact light fixture complete with LED moon lights that simulate the moons glow (you would be shocked to see how many little creatures live in this tank that are never seen).

I am slowly adding live rock (at $6.50 a pound it is a bit expensive).

The next step is to get everything stable and functioning correctly, so I can begin adding more livestock.

One comment on “Fish Tank Updates

  1. […] The tank looks 100% better than it did just a few months ago. I couldn’t be happier with the way it has progressed. It has come a long way. […]

Leave a Reply

