His Name is Robert Bolden

His name is Robert Bolden, and he is an athlete.

One of the hardest parts of being a College Football fan is getting to know the new faces every year. Another difficult part, is once you are stuck with a guy, chances are you are stuck with them for 2, 3 or 4 years. This was the case with interception machine Daryll Clark. I was never a fan, he was never Michael Robinson.

I am immediately impressed with Bolden (20-29 for 240, 2 TDs and 1 Int in his first every college action doesn’t hurt).

Yes I realize that Youngstown State is not Ohio State. But having said that, Evan Royster is supposed to be a Heisman Trophy contender, and could not get anything going Saturday, while Bolden was making plays all over the place with his arm. He looked polished and confident. He did not have to use his legs at all, which I am interested in seeing.

I am reasonable enough to realize that we are not going 12-0 and winning a BCS championship, I am also aware that Alabama will most likely roll us Saturday night. But, they might not. They too have an inexperienced QB and a great running game/defense. Maybe we can hang with them, maybe we have a QB who steps up in big games, unlike Mr. Clark, and the guy who proceded him, whose name I have already wiped from my memory.

All in all, great first weekend in College Football. How long can I keep the delusion going that I won’t just be disappointed at the end of the year?

Leave a Reply

