You Have Been Found Wanting

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/32545640

Visit msnbc.com for breaking news, world news, and news about the economy

This echos my exact feelings. I sat at work yesterday watching the President’s press conference on CNN and felt these exact things. I am fed up, I am frustrated and I am disengaged from the process. All I can think is that if I am feeling this way, how many others are?

If there is some larger plan, some grand scheme that we, the common people are not privy to, I have no idea what it could be. Because, what it looks like from where I am sitting, is a President who lashes out at the left-base (of which I consider myself a part) while simultaneously bending over backwards to appease people whose stated goal is to choke his Presidency to death, therefore paving the way for their candidate to walk through the doors of 1600 Pennsylvania Ave in 2012.

I remember thinking during the Bush years, who are these morons on the far right, the religious extremists, the Focus on the Family crowd who vote for this guy based on campaign promises to make Abstinence Only education national law and outlaw abortions under any circumstances. Bush of course did not deliver on these promises in his first term, but then somehow rallied these same people (who looked moronic from my perspective) to elect him to a second term on the same empty promises.

I now cannot help but ask myself, have I become the blind moron?

3 comments on “You Have Been Found Wanting

  1. Jeremy says:

    I commend you on your self-examination. More of our electorate (including myself) should do that more often.

    Of course, since then, the Democratic Caucus in the House voted to reject the President’s compromise. I expect the Republicans to harp on the “Party of No” line now.

    And that’s where we find ourselves now: Politics is a damned-if-you-do, damned-if-you-don’t field. Pandering to one’s base is narrow-minded; compromising is weakness.

  2. terry4505 says:

    I think “knowing thy self” and self-reflection are among the most important characteristics in a person. I try to reflect on my words and actions as often as possible. But not just leave it at that, but then use that information to inform future choices, words, actions etc…

    I think my expectations for the President were reasonable. I did not think that Super Obama was going to come into office and save us all from every evil that ails us. As a liberal, I honestly feel that government has some role in providing for the welfare, education, saftey of the people. To what degree that role is necessary is flexible, and largely dependent on the needs of individuals. But I do feel that there is a place for goverment within that framework.

    What has frustrated me about Obama is that the move has always been to the center-right. The first step has always been compromise. Instead of taking the mandate with which he was elected, and saying I was elected because the people trust me to do what I think is right, and now we are going to do it(as Bush would have done, and although I disagree with his view of what should/should not be done, I can’t argue with the mindset that says, I am here, I know what’s best, and I am going to do it). I have seen no desire from the President to fight for what he (and if not he, than progressives) elected him to do. It feels like on every major issue, the first step has been to take stock of what the opposition thinks, even when the entire goal of the oppositon is to get him out of office as soon as possible.

    If Democrats were to run someone else in a primary (Russ Feingold, Alan Greyson, Dennis Kucinich) I don’t know what I would do.

Leave a Reply

