My P90X Story

There was a day that sticks out clearly in my mind. I walked into the bathroom and glanced at myself in the mirror. I was so appalled by what I saw that I sat down and cried. That was just one of the many days that led me to where I am now. I told myself I didn’t have time to work out. I told myself that I was too busy taking care of a one year old, then a two year old, then a three year old. I let myself slip further and further into someone I was no longer proud to look at in a mirror.

That all changed this spring. I had started and not finished p90x once before. I did it for a month, felt good, and quit. This time, there would be no quitting. I had the DVDs, I had the new yoga mat. I had a pull up bar, a had a plan and I was going to stick with it.

Danielle told me to take day 1 pictures as I would want something to compare with when I was done. I did not take the pictures because I didn’t want to be faced with the realities of how I looked. Of course, Danielle was right and I wish I had those pictures.

I have never been a morning person, so getting up an hour and a half earlier every morning to workout my ass off was something I was not sure I would be able to do. I began on Monday, March 14th. I weighed 228.5 (not even my high point). The first week I missed two workouts. I was tired and sore from starting the program. I made up the two workouts over that first weekend. I have not missed a day since (aside from a day off a week). For the better part of three months I have done double workouts doing Cardio X every other afternoon, supplemented with runs of anywhere from 2-5 miles.

In the first month I lost 10 pounds. I got bigger, faster and stronger. I could run further, faster. I could play with Avi for hours and not need to sit down and catch my breath after a bought of Air Bending. In the second month, the weight loss slowed down a bit. I was down another 6 pounds to 212 on May 14th. I kept up with all of my workouts, doing mostly two per day. I did a spinning class Mondays and Fridays for 45 minutes. I worked my butt off (literally). By the end of month 3 last week I was past my goal weight of 205 (where I played football in college).  I had lost a full 25 pounds down to 203.5.

I really cannot overstate how highly I think of this program. If you eat well and push play everyday, you will see results. Period. I think a major mistake that people make (myself included) is that they either see results and get complacent, or don’t see enough results and get discouraged. When I talk to people about the program I get a lot of the same responses.

1.) “The videos are too long, I don’t have an hour and a half every day”. -To this I say bullshit. I work full time, I was a full-time student during most of the last three months. Avi is a busy and active almost 4-year old. We have a house to maintain as well as all the other day to day responsibilities people have. I found the time.

2.) “It’s too hard”- Yes it is. But I owe it to Avi to be around for a long time.

3.) “I don’t like the Yoga”- If you are not going to do  Yoga X, don’t do the program. The vast majority of the results that I have seen have been a direct result of me doing Yoga X. The strength, balance and flexibility as well as calmness of mind and body that I have gained thanks to Yoga X is amazing. In my opinion, there is no more critical part of any workout program than flexibility. Tony refers to yoga as the fountain of youth. Yoga X is hard. The first time I did it, I had to break it up into two parts. Now, it is the most important hour and a half of my week. Yoga X has made my a life long yoga-ist.

I had planned on taking a week off after finishing the program. I changed my mind. I found a p90x/Insanity hybrid calendar online. By the end of the three months, I found that Plyo X and Kenpo X were not hard enough anymore. I am doing another 3 months of p90x, this time substituting in Insanity workouts for the Cardio Days.

I even heard an awesome rumor that p90x 2 is coming out this fall, sounds like the perfect Christmas present. This has been a life changing experience for me. I honestly feel like a different person. I have yet to take the day 90 pics, but I am excited to see the changes from start to finish.

This entry was posted in Workout.

2 comments on “My P90X Story

  1. Joe says:

    Great write up Terry! You did an excellent job and for all the right reasons, you and your daughter. Keep bringing it bro!

  2. Thanks Joe! Your support has been integral in my ability to get the results that I have. This has truly changed my life.

Leave a Reply

