Father’s Day Weekend

I think father’s day is the most important day of the year for me (aside from Avi’s birthday) because it is something that I have earned. I work my ass of as a dad. There are days on the weekend where I am more tired from running with an almost-4-year-old than I am after working a tough 8 hour day at work. It is a different kind of tired, but it is tired none the less.

I had a long weekend with The Av-Ster and I wanted to make it something special. Avi and I went to the Spencerport carnival and parade Friday night and hiked the length of the gorge trail at Stony Brook Saturday. I didn’t really know what to expect from her little legs as far as hiking went. I can now say that this kid is a trooper. He hiked, we swam, we fell, he got cut knees. At one point the two of us were climbing up a big rock when it shifted under our weight, I lost my balance and stepped on Av’s shin. I was sure I broke it. Regardless of how much weight I have lost, I am still 200+ pounds. She was fine.

At one point on our way back, we got stuck above a waterfall. We had two options, we could backtrack 10 minutes and pick up the trail, or I could have Avi cling to my chest while I scaled the wall of the gorge. We chose the latter.

It was the best day I have ever spent with her. I love that we enjoy the same things. I love that playing, and hiking and running are all things she wants to do when I ask her what she would like to do tonight?

Her 4th birthday is approaching and I have a whole set of feelings about it that I am not ready to address yet.

Leave a Reply

