My Reason

I found myself laying on my back in a pool of my own sweat this morning, chest heaving and legs on fire as I completed forty-five Jack-in-the-Box jump knee tucks at the end of P90X2 Base and Back (20 sets of Pull-ups-Plyo-Pull-ups-Plyo…) searching for the reason that I do this to myself.

I then remember this picture I took last night before Avi and I went swimming (something we try to do every week). This is the reason I do this to myself. This is the reason when my alarm goes off at 5:00 am, I don’t hit snooze like I used to. I don’t wait until 10 minutes before I need to be out of the house to jump out of bed, drink coffee and stumble through my day. This is the reason that I have pushed play, every day, for almost a year.

There were a few moments that stick out clearly in my mind that were my Lightbulb moments. One of them was a day that Avi and I were engaging in one of out many dance party/air bending/ninja fighting sessions and I had to stop and sit down, because I was so out of breath that I could not keep playing.

I decided then that I no longer wanted to be that dad. I want to be able to run circles around my four-year old. Not the other way around.

That is why I am eating right, that is why I am spending the money on Shakeology every month. That is why I don’t make excuses when I am tired, or sore, or just don’t want to work out. I have a tremendous amount of Momentum right now and I am not willing to sacrifice that by making poor food choices. It is why I am willing to put my money where my mouth is and invest myself in these programs that have literally changed everything about my life.

I know this all sounds ridiculously preachy, and for that I apologize. But a year ago I was 235 pounds, unhappy, a lesser father. I sit here this morning, eight days from my 29th birthday, 14 days from the 1 year anniversary of the day I decided to change my life and I feel better than I ever have in my life. Hopefully she is proud of me for it.

One comment on “My Reason

Leave a Reply

