P90X2 Review- Foam Rolling

One of the major differences from P90X to P90X2 is the presence of the Recovery and Mobility disk which is in my opinion a massive upgrade over X-Stretch, which was a major snooze fest.

The beautiful thing about Recovery and Mobility is the Foam Rolling sequence, that once you become familiar with, you really don’t need the disk to do. I find myself pulling out the foam roller at random times throughout the day.

There are aches and pains that I assumed, after 10 years of football, were going to be with me for the rest of my life. Two months of foam rolling and many of them are non-existent.

It truly is a magical tool. When I ordered my P90X2, I ordered the set that came with the smooth foam roller, instead of spending the extra money on the kit that included the Rumble Roller. I knew this was a mistake the first time I used the one I ordered and I quickly headed to Dicks sporting goods for an upgrade. I have made due with one from Dicks for a few months, but decided it was time and took the plunge. This is what was waiting for me when I got home this afternoon:

I immediately hit the floor and started working on some of my “hot spots”. Let me just say, I am in love with the thing. I was in a car accident in October, where I was rear-ended badly. My right Lat has been sore since, today was the first time I have found a way to relieve that pain. Here is comparison between the Rumble Roller, and the two that I was using previously:

With the increased intensity of the P90X2 routines, it is imperative to keep my body feeling as good as possible between workouts. Foam rolling is a huge part of that, and the Rumble Roller will now be my go to tool for Myofacial Release.

One comment on “P90X2 Review- Foam Rolling

  1. […] doing X2 Chest Shoulders and Tris Wednesday morning and X2 Yoga Thursday morning. Friday I did some foam rolling and P90X Ab Ripper X. I will do X2 Yoga on Saturday and get ready for Performance Phase starting […]

Leave a Reply

