Supplement Update

I started taking Pre-Workout (PWO) supplements a few months ago. With the 5 am workouts, and not eating or drinking any coffee before hand it is tough getting my energy level up to where it needs to be to tackle whatever P90X2 workout I have in store for the day.

I started off taking Jack3d and loved it, but hated have to run to GNC every month when I ran out. Now that I am a Beachbody CoachI decided it was time to start testing out some of the products Beachbody offers, aside from Shakeology.

One of the nice things about the Beachbody PWO, Energy & Endurance (E&E) is that, unlike Jack3d and many other PWOs, it lacks Creatine, which needs to be cycled on and off. I took E&E yesterday afternoon before working out, and felt great. I was afraid that because I took it in the afternoon/evening, I would struggle to fall asleep, I didn’t. I took it again this morning and felt the effects within 5 minutes. I crushed Base and Back this morning, and E&E played a key role in that. It is lemon lime flavored.

I also purchased P90X Results and Recovery Formula, which is specifically designed to aid in recovery following a strenuous workout (like P90X, P90X2) by providing a perfect 4:1 ratio of Carbs to protein, which is what the body requires after a workout. The goal is to reduce muscle soreness. If you are just starting out with P90X, I can guarantee that if you are anything like I was, you are battling a lot of sore, fatigued muscles. It is orange flavored and I personally find it delicious.

I won’t take Results and Recovery (R&R) after every workout, because with 40g of Carbs per serving, it becomes difficult to maintain my ratios of Carbs:Protein:Fat on my 1900 cal diet. I will stick to taking it after particularly difficult routines, like the afromentioned Base and Back.

Daily I am going to continue to take Shakeology and Whey protein. I will utilize E&E for morning workouts and R&R after really tough ones. When my current bottles of GNC multivitamins are gone, I am done spending money on them. Shakeology renders them pointless as I am getting all the nutrients my body needs with my breakfast shake. I have not gone back to eating breakfast on top of my Shakeology and have not noticed any increase in my hunger or cravings. I have basically continued to eat exactly as I did before, while cutting out my breakfast and replacing it with Shakeology.

As always, if you have any questions about any of this stuff, please do not hesitate to ask. I am in the process of figuring out what works best for me and my goals

One comment on “Supplement Update

  1. […] has been about a week or so since I changed up my daily SUPPLEMENTS I am happy to report that I am loving […]

Leave a Reply

