Gym Memberships?

I stumbled across this video and thought I should share it. If you are someone who, like me had a gym membership and used it infrequently, or never check this out:

I obviously agree with everything he says here. I was exactly the person that he describes. I was paying upwards of $30 a month (that is $360 dollars a year, don’t tell me P90X, X2, Insanity are too expensive) for something I wasn’t using.

When he talks about people who bought P90X, and then left it sitting in the closet for year, before using it, only to regret it later, that was me exactly. After my three months, my biggest regret (aside from not taking day 1 pics) was that I didn’t start sooner. This ties into my feelings about not burning the disks for people. I firmly believe that if you make the investment in the program, if you buy in financially and mentally, then you will see RESULTS.

I am in no way bashing gyms. I know that for some people, they are the perfect escape from their day, and a safe haven where they can retreat and take care of themselves. For me, and for a lot of people I know, it just doesn’t work. For me, the ability to push the coffee table aside, lay out my workout mat, bust my ass for an hour, mix up my Shakeology, and go upstairs and wake up Avi is imperative.

I think the most telling thing is that Beachbody guarantees all of their products (P90X, X2 have 90-day money back policy, Shakeology has a bottom of the bag guarantee). I have never heard of a gym promising customers their money back at the end of their contract if they don’t see the results they wanted. Beachbody is able to do this because there are two groups of people, those who use their products have Insane results, and those who buy it and don’t use it, or never buy it at all. As I stated in my post “Results May Vary”, the only variance is in the attitude and effort in the person doing it.

I am well aware of the fact that I sound like a Beachbody fanboy. I honestly don’t care. These programs work and they have changed my life. Next week is my 29th birthday, and I feel better than I ever have in my life. In two weeks, it will be 1 year from the day I pushed play on P90X for the first time.

If you are interested in any of these programs, check out the links on the right side of my site. If you have any questions, feel free to use the comments section, or email me at terrancegilmore@gmail.com.

One comment on “Gym Memberships?

  1. […] of the major complaints about the original P90X, aside from the cost (which I addressed HERE) is the length of the workouts, specifically Yoga X. I personally never had a problem with the […]

Leave a Reply

