Shakeology Update- Month 3

With March ending and April beginning, so to begins my third month drinking Shakeology every day. I wanted to take a few minutes and offer an update because I get a lot of questions from people asking me what it is and why I drink it.

One of the first questions I get is what is it? According to the Shakeology website:

This patent-pending daily nutritional shake helps your body gently eliminate toxins more efficiently while allowing for better absorption of the essential nutrients you need. A proprietary blend of digestive enzymes and prebiotics helps your body progressively eliminate the toxins that build up over time from eating today’s highly processed foods.

At the same time, whole-food ingredients deliver the essential amino acids, vitamins, and minerals your body needs to curb cravings, allowing your body to shed stored fat while the more than 20 different antioxidants and phytonutrients help reduce free radical damage that can lead to heart disease, heart attacks, high blood pressure, and stroke

I can honestly that after two full months drinking Shakeology every day I can feel a noticeable difference in how I feel and my overall energy level. I tell people all the time, it is not the type of energy burst that you get from pounding a RedBull. It feels like a general feeling of energy and wellness. I love that I know, no matter what else I eat throughout the day, that every morning I am putting the best thing I possibly can in my body.

I eat between 1900-2200 calories every day. More than 50% of those calories come from protein, 30% from carbs and 15-20% from fat. When I mix one scoop of Shakeology with a scoop of whey protein in the morning, I am establishing those ratios for the rest of the day. By eating my healthiest meal within an hour of working out, my body has everything it needs until lunch.

The second question I get is, if you are already drinking a protein shake every day, what is the difference with Shakeology? The answer is, everything. If you look at the ingredients and nutritional info on the back of a tub of whey protein, you will see about 25 grams of protein, some carbs, some fat, some sugar, and not a lot else. If you look at the nutritional value on the back of a bag of Shakeology you will see it contains essential vitamin and nutrient your body needs to function.

I still drink protein shakes (actually I drink a ton of them) but there really is no comparison to Shakeology, they are completely different products. Shakeology is meant as a meal replacement and a super food. Protein powders are just protein.

The third question I get is, what is the taste like? This is a bit more complicated. Here is my review of Greenberry, and Here is my review of Tropical Strawberry. I didn’t review Chocolate, because I have found that it is the easiest for people to enjoy. Both Greenberry and Tropical Strawberry have very distinct flavors that are hard to define. The easiest way to get an idea is email me your address and I can send you a sample, because to describe it is really useless.

What I have begun doing is drinking Chocolate during the week (mon-fri). I mix my chocolate Shakeology with 8-10 ice cubes, a quarter cup of egg whites, 1 scoop of Shakeology and 1 scoop of chocolate whey protein (not necessary) and water. I blend this in my GNC 1 cup blender. I pour out 1 pint glass full and drink this right away, I put in 3-4 more ice cubes, fill with water again and blend again. This I take with me and drink when I get to school at about 8 am.

On the weekends I have started drinking Tropical Strawberry Shakeology. The first time I drank it, I didn’t love it. I have tried a few recipes, and found one I really like. I mix 1 scoop Tropical Strawberry Shakeology, 1 scoop vanilla whey protein, 1 banana, a handful of frozen tropical fruit (strawberries, honey dew mellon, peaches) 1 cup of almond milk and water in my blender. This combination is amazing and gets rid of the chalky after taste that has been the biggest complaint about Tropical Strawberry.

I would also be drinking Greenberry, but I just don’t happen to have any right now. For Greenberry, I mix 1 scoop Greenberry Shakeology, 1 scoop vanilla whey protein, 8-10 ice cubes, egg whites, and water in the blender. I love this.

I have not lost a ton of weight drinking Shakeology, but I am not trying to lose weight, I actually don’t really weigh myself anymore. I do know that my body fat percentage has dropped below 10% (I need to measure this and will next week). The reality is, with my body fat percentage as low as it is, there isn’t a ton of body fat to lose. If you are someone who is looking to lose weight, drop body fat, eat better and or put better things in your body, I can not recommend this product enough.

The big sticking point for so many people is the cost. I completely relate to this. I knew about Shakeology for a year before I tried it. It was just too much money. When I got hired to teach in January, the first thing I did with my first paycheck was sign up for a Beachbody Coach account and order Shakeology on Home Direct. I signed up for the Coach account for two reasons. #1, I wanted to help people get where I have gotten. #2 you get a 25% discount on all Beachbody products. Most people sign up for the coaching account simply for the discount, and there is no problem with this. It costs $15 a month for the coaching account, so with 25% off Shakeology (along with the other supplements i am taking) it makes sense to spend the $15 a month. If you order Home Direct (which means it will ship automatically each month) the shipping is free, which saves about $10.

When it is broken down, Shakeology costs about $4 a day. Some people have said to me, “but my oatmeal costs mere cents”… Ok, I agree. But what is in your oatmeal, and if you are not stopping and grabbing breakfast, what about lunch, and if not lunch, what about dinner and if not dinner, what about drinks 1-2 nights a week, how much are you spending there?

Like I have said before, I had to think of it as an “instead of” cost as opposed to an “also” cost.

So, if after reading all of this you find yourself still interested or looking for more information, google it. Go on YouTube and search it. The one negative you will find is the cost. There are two groups of people, those who swear by the product, and those who have not tried it.

If you want to order, you can use the Shakeology links on the side of this site. If you want to sign up for a Coach account to take advantage of the savings, you can click on the Join My Team link.

If you have questions or would like to request a sample, don’t hesitate to contact me through email (terrancegilmore@gmail.com) or on Facebook.

 

 

Leave a Reply

