Opening Day- It’s Only One Game

Yesterday was opening day, and yes, it was only one game in the big scheme of things. The Mets are 1-0 on the season and in first place.

But, when I think about it, I wrote that first sentence wrong. It wasn’t only one game in the big scheme of things. In the little scheme of things, it was one game. In the big scheme of things, it was a giant leap away from what this team has been for so long. It was a massive stride away from the last five or so years. It was a breath of fresh air in a room that has been so clouded and stuffy for so damn long.

All I need as a Mets fan is a little bit of hope. Don’t give me a ton of hope, just a shot glass full. Too much hope is a problem, because with it comes expectations that too  many times this team has failed to meet. Just a little bit of hope fills me with just a little bit of excitement, and that is right where I want to be with this team.

I would be lying if I didn’t follow every one of Johan Santana’s 89 pitches yesterday on MLB Gameday. I would be lying if I said I wasn’t totally engrossed in the end of the game at the bar for happy hour with my coworkers.

The reality is, for better or worse, for richer or poorer, in sickness and in health, till I am freakin’ dead, I am stuck with this team. If I am stuck with them, I am going to make the best of it. I am going to watch and enjoy the games, because for the first time in a long time, these guys seem to care. They are young. They are not 30-year-old millionaires. They are mostly guys making the minimum looking to get that first big contract. They are Ike Davis, Lucas Duda and Jon Niese, and they are fun to watch.

The last few seasons, I didn’t go in feeling like this (or did I?). Like a battered spouse, I always forget about the bad times. They only do it because they love me, right?

Yes, it was only one game. And in the big scheme of things, it was a huge step in the right direction.

Leave a Reply

