Make a Calendar- Stick to It

One of the keys to my success has been that I make a calendar, and stick with it. For me, one of the major reason I was stuck in the fitness doldrums was that I took far too relaxed of an approach to my schedule.

I, like many people, would go to the gym, warm up on the treadmill for 10 minutes, and walk around for an hour looking for machines to use with very little rhyme or reason to what I did.

That all changed last March when I began P90X. I had a schedule, I had a plan and I stuck to it. I tweaked the P90X schedule so that I had Yoga X on Saturdays (it is 90 minutes long and was far too long to do in the mornings before work). I stuck to the schedule and had really good RESULTS.

With my first round of P90X2, once again I decided to start off by sticking with the calendar. The only small change I made was moving Yoga to Saturday mornings. I love having yoga on Saturdays, it just feels like the perfect way to end a week and kick off the weekend.

I think what days you do which workout is less important than having a plan. I know myself. I know that if I came downstairs at 5:15 am, and had to make an on-the-spot decision about which disk to throw in, I would cop-out and pick the easiest one, every time. It is my natural inclination to revert to the path of least resistance, it is just how I am wired. Knowing this about myself (know thy self, right?) I go into each 3 month round of P90X, or whatever, with a plan. I create the calendar ahead of time I know, not guess, but know, ever day what I am going to do. I have tapped into to some other RESOURCES for helping me create hybrid schedules.

Making a calendar, and sticking to it has been one of the most important keys to my success with at-home workouts.

6 comments on “Make a Calendar- Stick to It

  1. Arash says:

    Spot on Terry. That is the main reason I was attracted to P90X. I didn’t have to think as to what exercise to do. Just press play and follow the program. No mucking around going from machine to machine.

    • terry4505 says:

      I’m the same way. Especially at first when I needed to break out of bad habits. I needed the structure of someone telling me what to do, and when. Now that I have established some positive habits, I can give myself (a little) more freedom in choosing a workout. I am doing a P90X2/Asylum hybrid that has a calendar laid out.

      • Arash says:

        Yep I’m looking to do the same hybrid when I finish my first round of X2. Pitty I started my first round a bit later as I would have loved to have done the hybrid with you guys now.

      • terry4505 says:

        When are you done with X2? Doing these programs with a group is awesome. I love having the support.

  2. Arash says:

    I’m doing an extended version (with the bonus workouts) and will be finishing in early July. I was then going to do Asylum for the first time until August. Unfortunately (or fortunately) I will be travelling on holidays during the month of August so won’t be able to seriously start the hybrid workout until start of September. Maybe you guys will be starting your second rounds of Hybrid around then?

    • terry4505 says:

      We will finish this up around the end of July, then I will probably jump back in some time in August. Check back in with me then and we will get you hooked up.

Leave a Reply

