P90X2/Asylum Hybrid- Week 1

With X2 Yoga tomorrow, I will have wrapped up my first week of P90X2/Insanity: The Asylum hybrid along with my Asylumites.

One week in and I am sore as hell. I am sore in places I haven’t been sore in a long time (hamstrings, glutes, groins) I got through Balance and Power the morning and was able to match or improve on every number I had the last time I did this routine about six weeks ago. I noticed some improvements on moves like the last move (stability ball plank crunch) where I had only ever been able to do maybe 10, I did 20 with good form this morning.

My core feels incredibly strong. I notice it the most doing Warrior Three moves and one leg squat moves. I just feel like I am working from a much more stable base.

I am sure that this is the result from the increased focus on core strength and overall athleticism in P90X2, and now the Asylum. I am very excited to see what the next 12 weeks will bring. I started the week off rough, doing the wrong workout Monday morning (which I made up for Monday afternoon) and not setting an alarm Tuesday morning, forcing me to rush through Asylum: Speed and Agility.

My left Patellar tendon has been sore recently, and I am chalking it up to the new shoes I started wearing about two weeks ago. I went back to the old shoes and am making sure that I put my arch supports in all of my work shoes every morning. I have found that if I wear shoes or sandals for an extended period of time (like a day) that don’t have good arch support, my knees and my right Achilles tendon/heel begin to hurt. I self-diagnosed the right heal as a heal-spur that is causing inflammation on the tendon rubbing on it. I have perpetually tight calves that cause the tendons on the back of my legs to be strained.

 

Leave a Reply

