P90X2/Asylum Hybrid- Strength Phase

I can honestly say I did not think I would be this sore.

I did X2 Shoulders and Arms on Sunday and X2 Chest, Back and Balance yesterday. I was a little worried about Chest, Back and Balance because of my “injured” Lat muscle, so I took it easy on some of the pull-up moves. I actually feel pretty good today (not any more sore than usual).  On Monday my arms were killing me from Shoulders and Arms.

I think that my soreness speaks to the effectiveness of P90X and P90X2 because I have been doing similar, if slightly different routines for over a year, and yet I am still able to push myself to the point of sore muscles. Muscle Confusion works. When I did P90X2 for the first time, I did 3 weeks using the traditional Strength Phase workouts, a recovery week, and three more weeks doing the bonus DVDs that came with my kit. I think for this round, I am going to do a full month with Chest, Back and Balance and a recovery week. Followed by a full month using the bonus DVDs and a recovery week. I was a little disappointed with my 90 day results from my first round and I think it was because of the four weeks of PAP at the end. If I do the PAP workouts, it will be for a week at the end, just prior to our vacation to Cape Cod the last week of July. The other option I am considering is doing the Strength Phase workouts right up until then, treat the week in Cape Cod as recovery (with running, yoga etc.) and do a few weeks of PAP when we get back (I am leaning towards this).

If you didn’t see, the X2 Crew video posted to YouTube and TeamRIPPED.com this week:

I can be seen doing Pistol Squats and my before and after shots are near the end. I continue to believe that having the support of people doing similar programs is instrumental in achieving great results.

I have a few more samples of Shakeology available. I would love to get these sent out this week. Let me know if you are interested in receiving a free sample and I will get it sent out. Shakeology continues to be the essential foundation of my daily diet.

On a sad-ish note, I sold my motorcycle last night. I am glad that I sold it because it will give us the financial flexibility to do some things around the house that we want to get done (anyone know anything about building a deck?) On the other hand, I already miss having the freedom to just jump on the bike and go whenever I wanted.

I recorded this video while doing X2 Yoga on Saturday:

I have a long way to go until I can hold this for a full minute.

 

 

Leave a Reply

