I’m Eating Healthy

Summer is officially upon us. Here in Western NY, it feels less like summer and more like the surface of the sun (can I take a minute to point out that it is my belief that the same people who bitch and moan about the snow in winter are now flocking to Facebook, Twitter or their social media outlet of choice to complain that it is hot out).

With summer comes picnics, cook-outs and vacations. All of which are a recipe for disaster if you are trying to eat healthy. I know from my own experience that no matter how “on-point” I am with my diet throughout the week, if we have a picnic or family party on the weekend, my ability to stave off temptation lessens. Especially when you throw in the added pressure of people around you making poor dietary choices. For me, one oatmeal raisin cookie can quickly turn into 4 if I don’t watch it.

I know that going into my first round of P90X, I was completely overwhelmed by the nutrition guide. Danielle and I sat down and looked at it, and both said “there is no way we can afford all of this.” The problem was, we were stuck in an outdated  “also” mindset, as opposed to an “instead of” mindset (which is exactly how I overcame my fear of purchasing Shakeology). Due to this attitude, I did not follow the diet guide. I ate better (or at least I thought I did) and had some results. It wasn’t until I became a member of TeamRIPPED that I started to understand the vital role that nutrition plays in shaping one’s success or failure. Once I started tracking my food (using myfitnesspal.com) I was able to better understand what to put into my body every day to achieve the best results possible.

To this day, there are times that I could make better choices. But because I track my food and know what I have eaten, I am able to account for every calorie.

I have followed the same 1900 Calorie Fat Shredder Diet for about six months now, and I am feeling great about where I am at. The problem is, I have had nothing to offer as far as advice goes for women, because I was pretty clueless what a woman’s body required while trying to lose weight. That was, until Coach Wayne posted his wife’s Fat Shredder diet. Feel free to use this link to help plan your eating. I strongly suggest using the MyFitnessPal app to track your food, at least until you get a firm understanding of what you need on a daily basis.

As far as shopping goes, I found this video:

Which does a great job of explaining what to look for at the grocery store. This is almost exactly what I use every day. I am still drinking Shakeology daily. I actually switched up my chocolate for greenberry this month and am loving the change. I think I am going to change again to Tropical Strawberry for July, as it just seems like a great summer flavor. For me, and I know I have said this a number of times already, Shakeology is the essential foundation stone to my daily nutrition. I know that every day, no matter what happens, I put the healthiest thing I possibly could in my body for breakfast.

The prohibitive factor with Shakeology is the cost. It breaks down to about $4 a day. Like I mentioned above, I started treating it like an “also” cost, and more like an “instead of”. The other thing I did to help with the cost was sign up for a coaching account with Team Beachbody. Coaches save 25% on all purchases, and because I am on monthly auto-ship, shipping is free.

I was stuck in a rut with my nutrition for a long time. I had to break 28 years of bad habits. It wasn’t easy. Change never is. But if what you want to do is live a healthier life style, look and feel better, and enjoy life more, these are the things I have done to do just that.

If you have any questions about diet, nutrition or Shakeology please do not hesitate to ask. I know for me, this was the most overwhelming and confusing part of the process, which is why it took me almost 9 months of P90X/Insanity before I really understood what I was doing.

One comment on “I’m Eating Healthy

  1. […] continue with the P90X2/Insanity hybrid I am currently working on, while rededicating myself to my 1900 calorie diet and cutting out all of the crap food that has crept into my diet since Halloween. If I have a […]

Leave a Reply

