Completely Preoccupied

Last week flew by, so much that the weekend arrived and I had no idea what day it was.

I think part of this was the weirdness of having a holiday in the middle of the week. Mike Greenberg of ESPN’s Mike and Mike in the morning has the idea to move the Fourth of July to the first Thursday in July and call it Independence Day, thus giving everyone a four-day weekend and avoiding the mid-week holiday. I completely agree. I actually vote we do this with all major holidays, like we do currently with Thanksgiving.

During last week’s craziness, I was able to “almost” complete the deck. I will have pictures up when it is done. Having never built anything like this before, I did not have a clue what to expect. It came out a lot better than I had hoped. I am in sort of the finishing touches stage, which is nice. I felt bad for Avi last week. I tried really hard to attend to her needs while also getting a major construction project completed. Not easy.

We celebrated Avi’s birthday with her school friends on Saturday. It was a bit before her real birthday, due to scheduling and what not. We were all afraid it was going to be a nightmare. Something about 15-20 four to five year-old kids in a pool together with only me and my father to keep an eye on them scared the crap out of me. It was actually a really nice time. The kids were really well-behaved and Avi seemed to have an awesome time and was incredibly gracious opening her presents. Two weeks from today my kid turns 5. If I close my eyes, I can see exactly the way she appeared the first time I laid my eyes on her tiny face. The sun rose twice on July 23rd, 2007 and my life has been brighter ever since.

I am reading a really good book that my sister suggested for me. It is called “The Art of Fielding”. If you were to ask me what it is about, the easy answer would be “baseball”, but it is really about so much more than that. I highly recommend it, to anyone. Baseball fan or not. Last night I was sitting on the deck (who knew a 18 foot x 16 foot platform could be so relaxing, it’s where I am typing this now) reading the book. I was startled out of my trance by a too-low flying by-plane. I looked up and the clouds were doing the most beautiful thing. I sat and stared at them for no less than five minutes. My eyes started to water because I forgot to blink. I truly love summer.

For the third month in a row, I switched up my Shakeology flavor. Last month it was Greenberry, the month before that Chocolate. For July (and probably August) I am going Tropical Strawberry. It just feels “right” for summer. I am mixing it with either almond or skim milk (sometimes half orange juice) a handful of Dole frozen tropical fruit and vanilla whey protein. I am loving it.

I realize this post jumps around a bit, but I think that is where I am at right now. I have a bit of an unsettled feeling. Being unemployed, not sure that I will have a job this fall. Hating the summer class I signed up for. Finishing the deck. Playing with Avi. My brain is a bit jumpy right now.

Leave a Reply

