11,000 is a Large Number

My P90X2 results video went over 11,000 views today. I have to thank everyone who has viewed and shared it. I had someone tell me the other day that they are three weeks into P90X and their reason for getting started was that I motivated them. It took a while for this to register with me. It was for this exact reason that I became a Beachbody Coach. It is for this exact reason that I post here about my diet and exercise and share my pictures and videos.

On a sort-of-related note, I took Avi to the spray park in Spencerport today, followed by lunch at her favorite restaurant, Abe’s (it’s and honest meal). While there I was flipping through the Living Section of the paper and I saw two articles that caught my attention.

The first of which offered tips for maintaining a healthy lifestyle while on vacation. This was of particular interest to me, as we will be leaving for 1o days in Cape Cod next Friday. Among the tips were get exercise in the morning so that you can enjoy the rest of your day, plan your meals and snacks so you are not caught trying to find healthy choices, and bring easy to carry workout equipment with you. Luckily for me, our trip coincides with my recovery week. Next week is the final week of my P90X2/Asylum hybrid, I will treat the week in Cape Cod as recovery and be tackling the Body Beast when we get home.

I plan on running at least 4 times in Cape Cod. I will also do yoga on the beach. I am packing my Rumble Roller. We also walk a few miles every day between the beach and Provincetown (many of those walks will have a 40 lb 5-year old on my shoulders).

For food, I am planning on bringing and grilling lots of chicken (although I have joked about a total-seafood week). I will also be bringing my Shakeology and whey protein. On a sort-of side note, I think I have mastered the art of blending Tropical Strawberry Shakeology. I mix 1 scoop Shakeology. I scoop vanilla whey protein. 8 ice cubes. A small handful of Dole frozen tropical fruit. And almond milk mixed with orange juice. The stuff comes out amazing.

Our trip is not going to turn into one 10 day long cheat meal. I will continue follow the same basic dietary guidelines I have established for myself while we are there, while also remembering that we are on vacation and I am allowed to enjoy myself. I am already resigning myself that when we go to Fenway to see the Red Sox and Tigers, there will be very few healthy options on the menu.

The second article I found in the Living section had to do with the importance of keeping a food journal, especially for women. I have written before about the importance of tracking food. I thought I was eating healthy my first few rounds of P90X. It wasn’t until I began using MyFitnessPal and following the 1900 Calorie diet posted to the TeamRIPPED website that I realized just how wrong I was. It is nearly impossible to be honest with yourself about what you have consumed in a day, and how those calories fit into your dietary goals if you are not keeping a record. Either through an app like MyFitnessPal, or with a simple pencil and a piece of paper. Anyone who is looking to lose body fat has to be calorie deficient (take in less than they burn in day) while also hitting specific percentages of carbs, fats and proteins. The best way that I have found to do this is by using MyFitnessPal because it does all of the math for you and tracks those essential macro-nutrients.

Danielle is in the middle of her fourth week of ChaLEAN Extreme She is loving it and I can say that there is already a noticeable difference in the way that she looks. ChaLEAN is a toned down program similar to P90X. It is not as extreme as P90X and is geared towards women. But I can honestly say, the few times I did a workout with her (using heavier weights) I was sweating my ass off along with her. The workouts are shorter (in the 35-45 minute range) and fast paced. They are a combination of resistance and cardio exercises based on the principal that muscle burns fat. I am hoping Danielle will guest-post a full review here along with before and after pictures when she is done.

With finishing my X2/Asylum hybrid next week, I will hopefully have a chance to take some after pictures. If not, any we take on vacation will have to suffice. I can honestly say I have never been in this kind of athletic shape. It is ironic that we are going to Cape Cod and I am feeling so good about how I look. Because many of the “before” pictures I have used in my posts, videos and as motivation to get in shape were taken there in the summer of ’08.

If you have found my video motivational, please keep sharing it. I have a hard time wrapping my head around the fact that 11,000 people, most of them total strangers have viewed this thing already. If you would like to sign up to have me as your coach, you can follow the “Join My Team” link on the top right side of this site. It is free to sign up and only takes a few minutes. For those of you have already gotten in touch with me, keep up the good work.

3 comments on “11,000 is a Large Number

  1. Let me start off by saying HOLLY SHIT! Great results…I’ve only glanced at the post above, but I already know that I need to make some more changes…mainly to the diet.

    • terry4505 says:

      Thank You!! If you read through some of the older posts you will find that for the first 9 months or so (two rounds of P90X, one P90X/Insanity Hybrid) that I too struggled with the diet aspect. It wasn’t until I got plugged in with my Beachbody Coach that I began to understand the importance of the nutrition component and decided to invest in Shakeology.

      Once I made those changes, my results began to really take off. Thanks for checking out my blog.

Leave a Reply

