Body Beast: Week 1

I wrapped up my first week of Body Beast this morning by doing P90X2 Yoga on my rest day.

I purchased Body Beast on a whim. When I first watched the preview video, I thought it looked stupid. To me, it looked like a bunch of meatheads yelling and pumping iron. I was pretty turned off by it and thought it wasn’t something I would ever really try.

When I finished my P90X2/Asylum hybrid last week I was torn between doing a full 60 days of Insanity and trying something new. Body Beast was relatively inexpensive, and I already own the equipment necessary to complete the program, so I decided to give it a shot. I followed my own advice and came up with a plan for how to attack the next 90 days and set my goals. I am hoping to add around 5 lbs of muscle while continuing to cut body fat. I am not looking to get huge (although I watched Warrior last night with Tom Hardy, and the idea of looking like that holds some appeal for me). I weigh about 185 right now, and if I end up at the same weight in three months, I will not be upset in the least.

As far as the actual workouts go, I am impressed. The video quality on my DVDs is a little on the poor side, the commentary is somewhat meat-headish. Listening to Sagi refer to himself as the Beast constantly gets a bit old (although, when he shushes one of the cast members and says “shush, the Beast is talking” I cannot help but laugh). I am used to Tony Horton and Shaun T. Both of whom I enjoy working out with.

The workouts themselves are good. Usually between 30-50 minutes. The warm up is not enough. I find myself hitting the foam roller and stretching a bit before I push play. Both P90X2 and Insanity include truly effective combinations of static and dynamic stretches that prepare the body for the coming workout. Body Beast does not. One positive is that it keeps the workouts short. But in order to maintain flexibility and avoid injury, it is essential to add some additional work (hence why I did X2 Yoga this morning). At the end of this program, I don’t want to be such a beef cake that I need someone else to wipe my ass because I lack the flexibility and Lats are just too damn big.

As far as effectiveness of the workouts is concerned, I can only go by what my body is telling me after 6 days. What I know is, I have not been sore like this since my first week of P90X last March. Every day, a different part of my body has been sore from the workout the day before. I don’t mean just sore, I mean like hard to walk up the stairs sore. Can’t brush my teeth sore, can’t straighten my arms sore. These workouts work. I cannot wait to see how my body responds the second time through these workouts and beyond. I was never sore like this doing P90X2. I know this is working.

When I first brought up this program on this website, I stated that it would not be for everyone. I still believe that. There are some people that this style is simply not going to appeal to. But I am in a Facebook group of TeamRIPPED members who are all doing this together, and I was pleasantly surprised by the number of women are are hitting the Beast with us.

So far I like it. It is a nice change-up from P90X2, where so much was focused on balance. Every lifting move was done while incorporating some element of balance (curls on one leg, etc.). It is nice to firmly plant both feet on the ground and lift weights.

Week One

If you are interested in learning more about this or any other BeachBody program, let me know. I know there are a lot of people who have decided to commit to P90X and Insanity. If you are interested, but don’t know where to start or which program to choose, contact me so I can help guide you towards the program that will best fit your goals. All of the products that I have used, and continue to use are available through the links on this site.

 

One comment on “Body Beast: Week 1

  1. […] the program, you will note that I was somewhat turned off by the tenor of the workouts themselves (Here, Here, Here, Here, Here). There is definitely an air of “Meat-Headiness” to the program […]

Leave a Reply

