Getting Back on Track

In the weeks following our trip to Cape Cod, I struggled to get myself back on schedule. I was wholly unmotivated and got very little done around the house.

I didn’t miss a workout and continued to stick to my diet and exercise with Body Beast. But getting out of bed and getting going with my day had been a struggle. I had gotten up before 6 am almost every day for over a year. So not being able to get up and get at it was odd for me.

This week, for whatever reason, I have been able to get back to my usual schedule of morning workouts (except today, because I couldn’t fall asleep last night). I think a big part of getting motivated to get back into a routine has been getting back to work on the deck.

I am finishing up the final touches of the deck and am really happy with how it is coming. I decided to use deck boards for the skirting around the base of the deck

I am going to stain/seal it next week. I just have a few finishing touches to apply to the hand rails and I am ostensibly done with this project. It came out better than I had hoped.

I am starting Phase II of Body Beast on Monday. I have my last Phase I workout today, Build: Shoulders. Then I am going to take three days to rest/recover. And by “Rest/Recover” I mean I am going to do Insanity and X2: Yoga. I haven’t gained any weight (actually down a little bit) by design. I am not eating enough carbs or calories to be adding weight. I am going to up my calories slightly over the next month (to 2400). I feel pretty good about how I look/feel at this point.

Beast Week 2

Avi and I are reading Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone at night. I read her the “Kings Cross” chapter the other night from Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. She loved it and wanted to know what happened, so I told her we would have to start from the beginning. As I was reading it, she asked me “Daddy, why are your eyes leaking?” I said, because Daddy loves this story. I can’t wait to work through the series with her.

Leave a Reply

