Making Up Ground

One of the real hurdles for me as I worked to lose weight and get my body to a place where I am happy with it was getting out of the “Working out to make up for bad habits” mentality.

One of the first questions people invariably ask me when I tell them that I used P90X or Insanity and it worked for me is “Did you follow the diet guide?” The reason I think so many people ask this is because what they are hoping is that they will be able to maintain their crappy eating habits, improve their workout regiment and get the results that they are hoping for. The reality is, yes you can lose some weight if you work out with P90X, Insanity or any other workout program and continue to eat crap food. Check out my original P90X Results Video, I didn’t follow the diet guide, and I lost 25 pounds. I also worked out two, sometimes three times a day to achieve the results I did to make up for the fact that I wasn’t following any sort of nutrition plan.

It wasn’t until I got my nutrition in order, and started drinking Shakeology daily, that I really started to see the kind of results that I was looking for. If you compare the results from my initial 90 days to my P90X2 Results video and you will see the dramatic impact that nutrition has played in getting where I want to be.

What I had to change was the way I thought about working out as a means to make up for poor diet. I would eat like crap one day, or have a bad dinner (pizza anyone?) and then punish myself with a hard workout the following day, or an extra workout to “make up for it” then repeat this process three or four times a week. The problem with approach (aside from it not being a sustainable and or healthy way to handle diet and exercise) is that it is impossible to ever make progress. It is a constant cycle of one step forward and two steps back.

If you are trying to lose weight, as I was when I was pushing the scale at about 235, it is imperative that you address both the exercise and nutrition aspects. In my experience, doing one and not the other is a recipe for getting stuck in a rut.

If you are looking for ideas about how to improve your diet and or workouts, check out the links I have posted under the tabs at the top of this website. This is a system that has worked for me in achieving my goals.

Leave a Reply

