Body Beast-Day 30

I have wrapped up my first month of Body Beast and was pleasantly surprised by the results. The program is mostly focused on heavy lifting and body building techniques. There is very little “cardio” (I use quotes, because contrary to popular belief, any physical activity that elevates your heart rate is technically “cardio” but when most people think of cardio, they assume it means running, biking, or Insanity) in the program. I am following the Lean Beast calendar, which does include the Beast Cardio routine.

So far, I like the program, I do not love it. I am a P90X devotee. It is not just the workouts themselves. It is Tony, the routines and the overall feel of the disks that I enjoy so much. When in doubt, until something comes along that proves to be better in my mind, I will always revert to P90X.

Unlike THIS GUY, I think P90X is more than a cleverly designed program designed to get me to buy Shakeology.

But back to Body Beast… I am in the middle of the second phase of the program. The workouts are shorter (30 minutes on average) and each targets one specific muscle group. For instance, yesterday was Bulk Chest, and every move was designed to work my chest. Unlike P90X, where opposing muscle groups are worked on the same day (chest and back etc.). The shorter workouts are nice from a timing standpoint. But for someone who has done 60+ minute workouts every day for a year and a half, it just doesn’t feel like it is enough. I am sore this morning, and this is my third time through the Bulk Phase workouts, so they definitely work. I have upped my weights in almost ever move, and am sore the following day, so I know something is working.

I have stated before that my goal is not to add a ton of muscle mass. I was about 184 when I started back in August, and if I finish within 2 pounds plus or minus, I am completely happy with that. I weighed in at 183 the other day, but my weight fluctuates so much day-to-day and hour to hour, that I don’t put much stock in what the scale says.

I am back on a 1900 calorie Fat Shredder Diet. The Body Beast guide-book calls for a very different diet, but that is geared more towards people looking to gain mass. I am still looking to cut body fat, therefore I am not following the Body Beast guide-book at this time.

As a reminder, this was me four years ago at 235:

This was me at about 183 before Body Beast:

 

And my Day 30 pictures:

I have definitely gotten “bigger”. I haven’t gained any weight (by design) but my shoulders, chest, arms, neck and back are clearly bigger than they were.

This week I have transitioned to afternoon workouts. I have been a morning guy since I started P90X. But I am at a new school this year and have to be there earlier than I did last year. I don’t like feeling rushed in the morning. I have also added in some Insanity this week. Not necessarily because I think I need it, but because I like it.

I am excited to see what Day 60 and 90 look like.

2 comments on “Body Beast-Day 30

  1. […] do Abs 2-3 times a week, but I will cut back on the additional workouts. I was really happy with my Day 30 Results and I am excited to see what the Day 90 Results look like. You can see my Build Phase Review […]

  2. […] you will note that I was somewhat turned off by the tenor of the workouts themselves (Here, Here, Here, Here, Here). There is definitely an air of “Meat-Headiness” to the program that I […]

Leave a Reply

